Baby Kamman!

And now…for the biggest news the Kamman family blog has seen yet….BABY KAMMAN is on the way! I will soon be able to post pictures and stories of something much cuter than my cats! Although they will still be in the mix too..

I am now 12 weeks along and now entering the 2nd trimester. This is allegedly the “honeymoon” phase where I feel better and have more energy, before the 3rd trimester when I feel huge and uncomfortable. I am looking forward for the “honeymoon” to begin!

Warning: This part may contain TMI, read forward only if you love details!

Sol and I found out we were expecting in mid-July when I was 4 weeks along. Something that non-parents don’t typically know (and I didn’t know until very recently) is that gestational age of a fetus is calculated from the first day of the last cycle, not from the actual conception date, so when we found out, I had probably only actually been pregnant for about 2 weeks but it is counted as 4. The other thing I didn’t know is that you are actually pregnant for 10 months and not “9” as is traditionally thought. 40 weeks, 4 weeks in a month, 10 months…

We had been actively trying to conceive for a few months, so I was tracking my cycle religiously and I knew that my period was supposed to come or not come around mid-July. I hadn’t really been experiencing any serious symptoms, a couple of weird ones, (metally taste in my mouth and the uncontrollable urge to drink water constantly) and a strange unexplained “stretching” feeling in my belly. The mean thing about early pregnancy symptoms though is that they are exactly like menstrual symptoms, so the last few months I had also convinced myself that I was pregnant right before my cycle started up again. This month was no different, but for some reason I just *knew* that it was going to be different, and being my totally impatient self, I couldn’t wait for my period to be “late” and needed to take the home pregnancy test, like, asap. So the day I was supposed to have my period, July 16th, was the day we found out we were pregnant, officially.

I knew that the tests were the most accurate when you first wake up in the morning, and that particular morning I woke up at 6am and really had to pee. I sleepily stumbled into the bathroom and well, took the test. I was still bleary eyed and half-dressed, and not really expecting much based on the fact that I had taken several of these since February, all of which were negative. I washed my hands and face and then started to stare down the test on the counter. It was one of the ones with the 2 lines, (2 lines positive, 1 line negative), since I had given up buying the fancy digital ones after the first few. Astonishingly enough, after the control line popped up bold and clear, the “positive or negative” line started to slowly creep into fruition. I kept staring at it. Was that line there a minute ago? Why is it so light? Is it supposed to be as dark as the control line? Did I not notice that line earlier? Am I imagining things, it is early! I was so confused and my heart was racing. There was definitely a line there, but it was super super faint. I had no idea what that meant. I turned the packaging inside out to try and figure it out, but found no answer.

This was the first test. See what I mean? The control line is really dark, but the “answer” line was very faint. I didn’t know if they were supposed to match. I took the test downstairs and got onto trusty Google to figure out what it meant. Keep in mind, Sol and I both had the day off and it was barely 6am. He was sound asleep and had no idea any of this was going on….I didn’t want to wake him if I had nothing to say, and I didn’t know what to say about this!!

I got onto Google and started frantically googling “faint line” “first response”, etc. I found a lot of message boards that basically said that if there was a line at ALL (regardless of how light) it was positive. This was good news, but the message boards also suggested getting a digital test with a word (yes or no, pregnant or not pregnant) to confirm for sure. I slipped out the front door and drove down the street to CVS to score one of these tests. CVS didn’t open till 7. It was still only 6:30. I sat in front of CVS until they opened, and I ran in excitedly and bought the digital test. I wonder how many women excited or otherwise experience the opening crew at their local drug store…I got home quickly and went to take it, but then realized that I didn’t have to pee. Crap. I began pacing around downstairs, chugging water and waiting to be able to take the test. My heart had also been pounding out of my chest since 6am, and was only getting more intense as I got closer to confirming my answer. After a Nalgene of water, I finally was ready to take the test. And…..(this is kind of anti-climatic based on the title of this post, but IT WAS POSITIVE!)

I ran upstairs and woke Sol up with my huge grin and thrusting of the test in his face. He grabbed me to squeeze me tightly, and we laughed, and cried, and hugged, and laughed. It was an amazing moment that I will never forget….and after a couple of months of nervously waiting until the 2nd trimester when we knew the baby would “stick” and was healthy and growing, we are ready to announce our big news. At 8 weeks we got to see the baby for the first time, wiggling around and with its heart pounding away. This week we hit the big 12 week mark, and today we got to hear our baby’s heartbeat for the first time. He or she is growing and has a big strong heart beat, it was music to our ears. Next week we have another ultra sound, where baby Kamman will look much more like a baby and less like a kidney bean, and the next big milestone will be November 2nd, when we get to know if baby Kamman will be a boy or a girl!

6 thoughts on “Baby Kamman!

  1. Pingback: The Secret is out! Brittany and Sol are having a baby! « Anywhere I go you go

  2. Pingback: Baby Kamman | Justin & Bianca

Leave a Reply

