Pardi Gras

Every year the Windhams host a huge Mardi Gras bash. They go all out with festive, gawdy decorations and delicious southern faire, and everyone shows up in their most sparkley green, purple and gold gear. I love an excuse to celebrate a random holiday with fun friends! I also love themes, if you didn’t notice…

Happy Pardi Gras!

The hostess, Cathy with two of her kiddos

One of the traditional Mardi Gras elements is the Kings Cake. Kings Cake is a delicious cinnamon roll-esque pastry. A small figurine of baby Jesus is baked into the Kings Cake, and the person who finds the baby Jesus is guaranteed a year of good luck but ALSO has to bake the Kings Cake for the following years festivities. Last year Jennifer found Jesus, and she baked a beautiful cake for the party. It was so tempting and I needed to eat some. No one had cut into it yet, but I decided that it would be my duty to get it started. I spun it around a couple of times before deciding where to cut, I was purposefully trying to avoid the “lucky charm” because I knew that baking the Kings Cake is complicated and labor intensive, but sure enough, first cut of the cake I hit the lucky charm. So, I will have a very lucky year and a potentially frustrating baking experience  before next year’s party. What are the odds, really?

Jennifer's beautiful Kings Cake!

Found it!

The food is always amazing, everyone brings something to share and Cathy and John make authentic Southern gumbo, grits and jambalaya.

The dessert bar

Erin also made Jello shots this year…They were a big hit!

Mardi Shots

Even my mom had one!

There are lots of games set up: Rockband, Old school Nintendo, Air hockey…but the biggest hit is always karaoke.

And the night inevitably leads into a dance party…

The decorations, food and details are all great, but my favorite part of Mardi Gras is getting to have so many fun friends together in one place!

2 thoughts on “Pardi Gras

Leave a Reply

